Golden Royalties

A League of the American Business Women's Association
Kansas City , KS

Golden Royalties

League News

January 27, 2018

The Golden-Royalties Chapter of ABWA celebrated the 25th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Educational and Scholarship 2018 event on Saturday, January 20, 2018 at the Faith Deliverance Family Worship Center in Kansas City, Ks. It was a time to reflect on the theme: Who is Keeping the Dream Alive. The celebration began with remarks from Golden-Royalties Chapter President, Dr. Sharon J. Butler. GRC Charter Member, Sandra Watson gave a rousing rendition of Lift Every Voice and Sing, the Negro National Anthem.

The event was placed in the hands of the event Commentator, Dr. Alicia Hooks and then Past President, Ms. Charlotte Collins. After a delicious meal, catered by 3 Sisters, the award ceremony began. Each of the recipients was presented, walked the 'red carpet' and was celebrated for their contributions. The award recipients were: Dr. Thad Jones, Religion/Community Service recipient; Mr. Ivory 'Ike' Graham, Community Service recipient; Ms. Barbara A. Lora, Entrepreneurship recipient; Ms. Denise White, Medicine/Health Care/Community Service recipient; Ms. Ladora Lattimore, Humanitarian recipient; Dr. Eva R. Tucker Nevels, Education recipient; and Chief Apostle Hubert McDonald, Religion/Humanitarian recipient. Congratulations to each of them for a job well done in their respective fields.

The celebration was filled with music by The Lord's Anointed and 14 year old M'racle Bryant-Morgan. The Metropolitan Baptist Temple Church Metro Praise Angels blessed in praise dance. A special 'thank-you' shout out to the Air Force Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps for presenting the USA Flag and colors.

To everyone who helped make this a successful event - we say 'thank you'. We say thank you to the event leadership team: Sandra Watson, MLK Event Coordinator and Mary McCree, Venue Coordinator.

The Golden Royalties Chapter of ABWA was founded by Charlotte Collins and chartered on May 8, 1993. This chapter has received numerous awards and most recently received the 'Striving for Best Practices Award' on October 28, 2016 and the Best Practices Award Level III in October 2017.

Our vision statement: 'We promise to deliver while making a difference'

We welcome you to come and join us. Contact any of our members or officers for more information.

Chapter Officers-2018 Dr. Sharon J. Butler, President - sharonjbutler2016@yahoo.com Ms. Barbara Walker, Vice President Ms. Carolyn Watkins, Secretary Ms. Cynthia Bradford, Treasurer

Upcoming Events
Featured Member
Kathy Bell
Ways and Means
  • ABWA